Invertebrate specimens used to develop this key were provided by EOS Ecology, from samples collected as part of the 2010-11 Campbell Island Bicentennial Expedition (CIBE), made possible by the 50º South Trust.

The Trust is a charitable organisation established to further research and education on New Zealand’s Subantarctic Islands, and to support the preservation and management of these World Heritage ecosystems.

The creation of the key was supported by EOS Ecology and the TFBIS (Terrestrial and Freshwater Biodiversity Information System) fund (TFBIS contract number 278). TFBIS is funded by the Government to help to achieve the goals of the New Zealand Biodiversity Strategy, and is administered by the Department of Conservation.

A vast array of taxonomists helped with the confirmation of species identification, and we are thankful for their assistance. They include:

  • Niedbała Wojciech, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland (Acari)
  • Sergey Ermilov, Center of Independent Examinations-NN, Russia (Acari)
  • Ilse Bartsch, German Center for Marine Biodiversity Research, Germany (Acari)
  • Harry Smit Naturalis Biodiversity Center, The Netherlands, (Acari)
  • Graham Fenwick,  NIWA, New Zealand (Amphipoda)
  • Douglas Craig, University of Alberta, Canada (Diptera: Simuliidae)
  • Maureen Lewis, Auckland University, New Zealand, (Copepoda & Cladocera)
  • Zeng Zhao, Landcare Research, New Zealand (Nematoda)
  • Sebastian Kvist,  Harvard University, USA (Nemertea)
  • Adrian Pinder, Dept. of Environment and Conservation, Australia (Oligochaeta)
  • Patrick Dedeckker, Australian National University (Ostracoda)
  • Chris Laumer  Harvard University, USA (Platyhelminthes)
  • Miquel Vila Farré, Max Planck Institute, Germany (Platyhelminthes)
  • Brian Smith,  NIWA, New Zealand (Trichoptera)
  • Rod Macfarlane (Diptera)

The key was built by Amber Sinton (EOS Ecology), graphic design Bronwyn Gay (EOS Ecology). Thank you also to the people who tested the beta version of the key; Douglas Craig (University of Alberta), Nick Hempston (EOS Ecology), Tom Drinan (EOS Ecology), and Alex James (EOS Ecology).

A special thanks to co-author Mike Winterbourn (Canterbury University), for the amazing amount of work he contributed to this key.

Freshwater invertebrates of Campbell Island.
%d bloggers like this: